Fearing Freedom

climbing-a-redwood-tree-700x467

I am afraid of

Freedom.

It seems

As splendid as climbing a tree in heaven.

But I see

The dark mass of gnarled branches.

Claws of a Whomping Willow

Ready to pluck me from my rooted ground

And disperse the seeds of my common sense

Onto barren lands.

I fear that freedom will change the baby bones upon which my frame hangs

Into skeletons in the closet.

Or, am I afraid

To live?

What if those claws extend from smooth limbs?

Protective and strong.

Grabbing me,

To place me high up on a tree

Away from the predators that I don’t see

Down to earth.

A higher perspective –

– Maybe this embrace by freedom

Is what’s best for me.

© Copyright 2016  A Cup of Strawberries

All Rights Reserved

Featured image via Climbing A Redwood
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://laxmy.wordpress.com/2016/10/06/fearing-freedom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

