The Balancing Act

Now I walk this tightrope of fire.

One slip and I will fall.

One more slip and I will

Fall.

Why are you making me walk this path?

I am not the best at this balancing act…

Yet I cannot settle here in one spot.

Twisted,

Limited.

A lifetime of stock-still hopscotch.

Hot, Scorched.

Reduced to ashes in air-

my essence in flames, my spirit in smoke.

No, for I will go nowhere.

The winds of change have fanned the flames

And torched my feet.

In the blaze

I inhaled,

And dreamed of freedom at the other end.

And now, as I run for my life,

My inertia has me galloping

With the stumbling legs of a newborn deer.

Travelling on this tightrope of fire

I feel fear.

 

 …

© Copyright 2015-2016  A Cup of Strawberries

All Rights Reserved

featured image via Project Go Dog
Published in: on December 13, 2015 at 11:10 AM  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Keep writing :).good one

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing imagery!
    🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

