The Moon Rabbit

When I was little, I was very fond of the moon.
It would always seem to follow us when we were driving back home from an occasion.
On one certain night like this, I still remember tugging at the seat belt so I could clearly look out the window and see the moon.
That’s when my mother who was sitting in front told me a very “believable” story about the darker spots on the moon which I had enquired about.

So, time flew by.. and when I was in the 3rd/4th grade, we began learning about the moon.
My teacher asked the class what those dark spots were.. and I bravely, with full conviction said :

IT’S THE MOON RABBIT. 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Once upon a time, there was a mama rabbit and a baby rabbit.
The baby rabbit  was very playful and would always hop around here and there, wanting to explore this strange world that it had been brought into. Hopping around with the butterflies and the bees.
Mama rabbit would constantly hop after her baby, warning the young one of the dangers of going too far.

One day, the baby rabbit saw the moon! It was so big, and bright and beautifully white! Just like the baby rabbit and it longed to see what the moon was like.
So the rabbit pleaded to its mother to let it jump to the moon.
Mama rabbit strictly said no, and begged the rabbit to stay.
But the angry baby rabbit jumped and hopped away.That’s when a fairy rabbit came and told the baby that it would take it to the wonderful moon!
Baby rabbit was overjoyed, but the fairy said that she would, on one condition – Once the rabbit goes to the moon, it cannot come back.

Baby rabbit didn’t care! It wanted to go to the moon so much that it didn’t think of the consequences.
So the baby rabbit was granted its wish, and went to the moon!
The fairy disappeared, and baby rabbit was all alone.
At first it seemed nice, a whole new world to play around in. Baby rabbit hopped here and there.. but soon got bored and longed to see it’s mother again. The moon did not look as bright and as beautiful as it did from earth.. But it couldn’t go back!! It was stuck on the moon forever.

So the rabbit looked down sadly to earth- from the moon, regretting making that decision and wanting to go back.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

That’s how it all happened.
Today whenever I look at the moon, I still see the poor rabbit, sitting there, unhappily. Wanting to come back down to earth. 😦
Oh, and as for that day in class.. My teacher never accepted it, despite me telling her that my mom told me, and that it was bound to be true!.. I guess I wasn’t convincing enough.. 😉

 

© Copyright 2015-2016  A Cup of Strawberries

All Rights Reserved

 

Published in: on November 22, 2015 at 8:39 AM  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

